Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
SoundLab Owners Group
Owner's Group

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
What Soundlabs do you have, and what upgrades (Read 8369 times)
bk12
Ex Member

Life is Good

Re: What Soundlabs do you have, and what upgrades
Reply #15 - Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:38am

I am a newbie to SL.  I have been thinking about a pair for years...finally bought a pair of A-3s that needed some major TLC about a year ago.  I am just now getting everything back together....can't wait to actually hear them after this long journey!  All said and done, they will have membrane rebuild plus Torroid I and new mixer.....I am so excited to hear these.  I am a long time planar fan (current setup is CLS I), but have never owned a SL speaker.

IP Logged

JP
Ex Member

Reply #16 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 10:49am

I still own and enjoy my aging SoundLab Auras. I'm considering upgrading to Toroid 1 or AU-90 transformers but I don't think further upgrades are warranted.

I really like the design of SoundLab U-1PXs which have more robust steel frames, larger panels, and improved electronics but cost prohibits me from taking that leap.

Before my SoundLab Auras, I owned Acoustat 1+1s which are now in storage. Before the 1+1s, I auditioned Magnepans and bought Apogee Calipers, my first planar speakers. A host of ported (B&W 801s and custom designed), horn (Klipschorns), and sealed (custom designed) speakers preceded my Calipers.

IP Logged

Doug
Ex Member

Reply #17 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 10:54am

Quote:
I have been a SL owner since the early 90s.  I have had just 2 different pairs, A2s and for a long time Auras.  I bought some of the first ones out.  Would love to get something better, but trying to get my boys through college without them having to go into debt at all, so that is my priority.